Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen

Tattoo-friendly onsen in Japan

101 onsen, sento and spa complexes, each with the tattoo rule stated on its own official website.

Of the 101 facilities we checked on their official websites, 20 allow tattoos, 30 allow them only under conditions (for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath), 18 refuse guests with tattoos in their shared baths, and 33 do not mention tattoos. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.

Which onsen in Japan allow tattoos?

20 facilities in our list state on their official site that tattoos are fine without a cover-up:

Allowed with conditions

30 facilities accept tattoos only under a stated condition — read it before you go:

  • Atami Onsen Yuyado Mikan no Ki 熱海温泉 湯宿みかんの木 — Tattoos should be covered with a towel
  • Hotel New Akao ホテルニューアカオ — Official pages CONFLICT - see notes
  • Marine Spa Atami マリンスパあたみ — Guests with tattoos are asked to cover them with tape or a rash guard
  • Oedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Atami 大江戸温泉物語 Premium あたみ — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • RISONARE Atami リゾナーレ熱海 — Hoshino Resorts policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • TAOYA Atami TAOYA熱海 — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • Tsuki no Sumika Atami Juraku Hotel 月のすみか 熱海聚楽ホテル — Small tattoos (about postcard size or smaller) can be shown without covering; larger tattoos are not addressed
  • Onyado Nono Beppu 別府八湯 御宿 野乃別府 — Bathing is refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • Hakone Kowakien Yunessun / Mori no Yu 箱根小涌園ユネッサン・森の湯 — Tattoos (incl. stickers/paint) are refused in principle
  • Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tenzan (Tenzan Tohji-kyo) 箱根湯本温泉 天山湯治郷 ひがな湯治 天山 — A tattooed guest visiting alone is not refused
  • TAOYA Hakone TAOYA箱根 — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • Yumoto Fujiya Hotel 湯本富士屋ホテル — Refused in principle in the large bath
  • Gensen Ichinoyu 源泉一乃湯 — Guests with tattoos are refused in the large bath
  • Kirishimaya Ryokan 草津温泉 桐島屋旅館 — Guests with partial tattoos worn for fashion may use the shared baths
  • Kusatsu Onsen Hotel Village 草津温泉ホテルヴィレッジ — Guests with tattoos are asked not to use the onsen
  • Naraya 草津温泉 奈良屋 — Guests with tattoos may not use the large baths
  • Onyado Nono Kyoto Shichijo (Renge no Yu) 天然温泉 蓮花の湯 御宿 野乃京都七条 — Bathing is refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • Asaya Hotel 鬼怒川温泉 あさやホテル — Guests with tattoos are asked not to use the large baths
  • Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen 大江戸温泉物語 ホテル鬼怒川御苑 — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • KAI Kinugawa 界 鬼怒川 — Hoshino Resorts policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • Oedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Kinugawa Kanko Hotel 大江戸温泉物語 Premium 鬼怒川観光ホテル — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • TAOYA Nikko Kirifuri TAOYA日光霧降 — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • Candeo Hotels Osaka Shinsaibashi カンデオホテルズ大阪心斎橋 — Guests with tattoos are asked to use tattoo cover stickers
  • Minoh Onsen Spa Garden 箕面温泉スパーガーデン(大江戸温泉物語) — Tattoos must be fully covered by up to 2 of the facility's paid cover stickers
  • Solaniwa Onsen Osaka Bay Tower 空庭温泉 OSAKA BAY TOWER — Tattoos must be completely covered with the facility's own tattoo cover stickers (sold on site)
  • Asakusa ROX Matsuri-yu 浅草ROXまつり湯 — Tattoos/body art must be fully covered with up to 2 of the facility's designated stickers
  • HOSHINOYA Tokyo 星のや東京 — Staff may still refuse public-bath access if they judge tattoos could make other guests uncomfortable
  • Maenohara Onsen Saya-no-Yudokoro 前野原温泉 さやの湯処 — Tattoo must be completely covered by up to 2 of the facility's designated cover stickers (11 x 20 cm)
  • Thermae-Yu (Shinjuku) テルマー湯 新宿店 — Men who are foreign tourists: allowed if one designated tattoo sticker is worn (it may not cover everything); passport or air ticket must be shown
  • Tokyo Toyosu Manyo Club 東京豊洲 万葉倶楽部 — Tattoo must be fully covered by up to 2 of the facility's cover sheets (max 11 x 20 cm)

Which famous onsen do not allow tattoos?

18 facilities in our list say on their official site that guests with tattoos cannot use the shared baths. Some of them offer a private bath instead — see each page.

33 facilities do not mention tattoos on their official site (Atami Seaside Spa & Resort, Hyotan Onsen, Kannawa Mushiyu (Steam Bath), Shibaseki Onsen, Takegawara Onsen and Fujiya Inn and others). “Not stated” does not mean allowed.

All facilities: filter by area, policy and type

Tattoo policies of onsen and bathhouses in Japan
FacilityAreaTypeTattoo policyConditionsPrivate bathChecked
Atami Onsen Yuyado Mikan no Ki熱海温泉 湯宿みかんの木Atami · Atami, ShizuokaRyokanAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoos should be covered with a towel
  • Staff may speak to guests if other guests complain
  • Source is the Atami Tourism Bureau's official travel site (page updated 2026-08-20); the facility's own website does not mention tattoos (checked 2026-10-09)
No9 Oct 2026
Hotel New AkaoホテルニューアカオAtami · Atami, ShizuokaHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Official pages CONFLICT - see notes
  • Main FAQ: OK for the onsen and pool if tattoos are hidden from other guests with cover stickers
  • Bath page (JP and EN): people with tattoos or body art are refused entry
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Marine Spa AtamiマリンスパあたみAtami · Atami, ShizuokaDay-use onsenAllowed with conditions
  • Guests with tattoos are asked to cover them with tape or a rash guard
  • Phrased as a request for cooperation; the page does not say whether this covers the baths, the pool, or both
No9 Oct 2026
Oedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Atami大江戸温泉物語 Premium あたみAtami · Atami, ShizuokaHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Not stated9 Oct 2026
RISONARE Atamiリゾナーレ熱海Atami · Atami, ShizuokaHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Hoshino Resorts policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • Staff may still refuse public-bath access if they judge other guests could feel afraid
  • Pool: guests may be asked to wear a rash guard or similar to cover tattoos (bring your own; not provided)
Not stated9 Oct 2026
TAOYA AtamiTAOYA熱海Atami · Izusan, Atami, ShizuokaHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Tsuki no Sumika Atami Juraku Hotel月のすみか 熱海聚楽ホテルAtami · Atami, ShizuokaHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Small tattoos (about postcard size or smaller) can be shown without covering; larger tattoos are not addressed
  • Day-use bathing is not offered
  • Source is the Atami Tourism Bureau's official travel site (page updated 2026-08-20); the facility's own website does not mention tattoos (checked 2026-10-09)
No9 Oct 2026
Atami Korakuen Hotel熱海後楽園ホテルAtami · Atami, ShizuokaHotelNot allowed
  • Applies to the large view bath 'Kaibo no Yu'
  • Body art incl. tattoo paint and stickers is also refused
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Ocean Spa Fuuaオーシャンスパ FuuaAtami · Atami, ShizuokaDay-use onsenNot allowed
  • Body art incl. tattoo paint and stickers is also refused
  • Entry to the whole facility is refused
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Atami Seaside Spa & Resort熱海シーサイド スパ&リゾートAtami · Atami, ShizuokaHotelNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Onyado Nono Beppu別府八湯 御宿 野乃別府Beppu · Beppu, OitaHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Bathing is refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK if the tattoo can be hidden by a cover sticker (8 x 10 cm) provided by the hotel
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Suginoi Hotel別府温泉 杉乃井ホテルBeppu · Beppu, OitaHotelNot allowed
  • Large baths (incl. Tanayu) and the pool (Aqua Garden) are refused for guests with tattoos
  • Applies also to fashion or religious tattoos
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Hyotan Onsenひょうたん温泉Beppu · Kannawa, Beppu, OitaDay-use onsenNot stated on official site—Private family bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Kannawa Mushiyu (Steam Bath)鉄輪むし湯Beppu · Kannawa, Beppu, OitaSento (public bathhouse)Not stated on official site—No9 Oct 2026
Shibaseki Onsen柴石温泉Beppu · Beppu, OitaSento (public bathhouse)Not stated on official site—Private family bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Takegawara Onsen竹瓦温泉Beppu · Beppu, OitaSento (public bathhouse)Not stated on official site—No9 Oct 2026
Ginzanso仙峡の宿 銀山荘Ginzan · Ginzan Onsen, Obanazawa, YamagataRyokanNot allowed
  • Guests with tattoos are asked not to bathe in the shared baths
  • No private/family bath; rooms with their own semi-open-air bath exist
In-room bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Fujiya Inn銀山温泉 藤屋Ginzan · Ginzan Onsen, Obanazawa, YamagataRyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Honkan Kosekiya本館古勢起屋Ginzan · Ginzan Onsen, Obanazawa, YamagataRyokanNot stated on official site—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Notoya Ryokan能登屋旅館Ginzan · Ginzan Onsen, Obanazawa, YamagataRyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Shirogane-yu (Ginzan Onsen public bath)しろがね湯Ginzan · Ginzan Onsen, Obanazawa, YamagataDay-use onsenNot stated on official site—No9 Oct 2026
Takimikan滝と蕎麦の宿 瀧見館Ginzan · Ginzan Onsen, Obanazawa, YamagataRyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Hakone Yuryo箱根湯寮Hakone · Tonosawa, HakoneDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Hakone Kowakien Yunessun / Mori no Yu箱根小涌園ユネッサン・森の湯Hakone · Ninotaira, HakoneDay-use onsenAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoos (incl. stickers/paint) are refused in principle
  • Mori no Yu (nude onsen): OK only if the tattoo is fully covered by two of the facility's paid tattoo cover seals
  • Yunessun (swimwear area): OK if tattoos are covered, e.g. with a rash guard (paid rental available)
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tenzan (Tenzan Tohji-kyo)箱根湯本温泉 天山湯治郷 ひがな湯治 天山Hakone · Yumoto-chaya, HakoneDay-use onsenAllowed with conditions
  • A tattooed guest visiting alone is not refused
  • Groups of two or more tattooed guests are refused entry
  • English page asks guests to wear a jacket to cover tattoos while in the facility (outside the bath)
No9 Oct 2026
TAOYA HakoneTAOYA箱根Hakone · Sengokuhara, HakoneHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Yumoto Fujiya Hotel湯本富士屋ホテルHakone · Yumoto, HakoneHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Refused in principle in the large bath
  • OK only if the tattoo can be covered with two 10 cm x 14 cm tattoo cover stickers
  • Cover stickers sold at the front desk, 500 yen each (as of 2026-10-09)
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Fujiya Hotel富士屋ホテルHakone · Miyanoshita, HakoneHotelNot allowed
  • Large bath refused for guests with tattoos, including overseas guests
  • Every guest room bathroom is supplied with Miyanoshita hot spring water (private alternative)
In-room bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Hakone Kowakien Ten-yu箱根小涌園 天悠Hakone · Ninotaira, HakoneRyokanNot allowed
  • Guests with tattoos are refused in the large baths
  • Every guest room has its own hot-spring open-air bath (private alternative; tattoo rule for it not stated)
In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Hakone Yumoto Onsen Hotel Okada箱根湯本温泉 ホテルおかだHakone · Yumoto-chaya, HakoneHotelNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Hakone Yumoto Onsen Kappa Tengoku箱根湯本温泉 かっぱ天国Hakone · Yumoto, HakoneDay-use onsenNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Goshono-yu御所の湯Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Ichino-yu一の湯Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Jizo-yu地蔵湯Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Kawaguchiya Kinosaki Riverside Hotel川口屋城崎リバーサイドホテルKinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoHotelTattoos allowed—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Kinosaki Yamamotoya城崎温泉 山本屋Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoRyokanTattoos allowed—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Kono-yu (Kinosaki Onsen public bath)鴻の湯Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Mandara-yuまんだら湯Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Nishimuraya Honkan西村屋本館Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoRyokanTattoos allowed—In-room open-air bathTattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Nishimuraya Hotel Shogetsutei西村屋ホテル招月庭Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoRyokanTattoos allowed
  • Large bath: tattoos OK unless the guest belongs to organized crime or another anti-social group
  • Fitness gym: guests with tattoos may not use it
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Yanagi-yu柳湯Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Morizuya城崎温泉 岩窟風呂 森津屋Kinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoRyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Tsutaya城崎温泉 旅館つたやKinosaki · Kinosaki, Toyooka, HyogoRyokanNot stated on official site—No9 Oct 2026
Gozanoyu御座之湯Kusatsu · Kusatsu, GunmaDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Otakinoyu大滝乃湯Kusatsu · Kusatsu, GunmaDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Sainokawara Open-Air Bath西の河原露天風呂Kusatsu · Kusatsu, GunmaDay-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Gensen Ichinoyu源泉一乃湯Kusatsu · Kusatsu, GunmaRyokanAllowed with conditions
  • Guests with tattoos are refused in the large bath
  • Small one-point tattoos are OK if fully covered with stickers or similar
  • Guests with tattoos may use the paid private bath
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Kirishimaya Ryokan草津温泉 桐島屋旅館Kusatsu · Kusatsu, GunmaRyokanAllowed with conditions
  • Guests with partial tattoos worn for fashion may use the shared baths
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Kusatsu Onsen Hotel Village草津温泉ホテルヴィレッジKusatsu · Kusatsu, GunmaHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Guests with tattoos are asked not to use the onsen
  • Small tattoos that can be completely covered with stickers are OK
  • Cover stickers sold at reception and at the Therme Therme front desk
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Naraya草津温泉 奈良屋Kusatsu · Kusatsu, Agatsuma, GunmaRyokanAllowed with conditions
  • Guests with tattoos may not use the large baths
  • Exception: small 'point' tattoos that can be fully covered with stickers etc. are allowed in the large baths
  • The paid private baths can be used by guests with tattoos
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Hotel Ichii草津温泉 ホテル一井Kusatsu · Kusatsu, Agatsuma, GunmaRyokanNot allowed
  • Guests with tattoos are asked not to use the large bath or the open-air bath
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Hotel Sakurai草津温泉ホテル櫻井Kusatsu · Kusatsu, GunmaHotelNot allowed
  • Applies also to fashion or religious tattoos
No9 Oct 2026
Ryokan Tamura旅館たむらKusatsu · Kusatsu, Agatsuma, GunmaRyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Tsutsujiteiつつじ亭Kusatsu · Kusatsu, Agatsuma, GunmaRyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Ura-Kusatsu TOU裏草津 蕩 TOUKusatsu · Kusatsu, GunmaHotelNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Candeo Hotels Kyoto Karasuma Rokkakuカンデオホテルズ京都烏丸六角Kyoto · Nakagyo-ku, KyotoHotelTattoos allowed
  • Rooftop SkySpa is for hotel guests only
No9 Oct 2026
Onyado Nono Kyoto Shichijo (Renge no Yu)天然温泉 蓮花の湯 御宿 野乃京都七条Kyoto · Shimogyo-ku, KyotoHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Bathing is refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK if the tattoo can be hidden by a cover sticker (8 x 10 cm) provided by the hotel
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae (Hanahotaru no Yu)ドーミーインPREMIUM京都駅前 天然温泉 花蛍の湯Kyoto · Shimogyo-ku, KyotoHotelNot allowed
  • Guests with tattoos (incl. similar) are refused in the large bath
No9 Oct 2026
Sagano Onsen Tenzan no Yuさがの温泉 天山の湯Kyoto · Ukyo-ku, KyotoSuper sento / spa complexNot allowed
  • Applies to any tattoo regardless of size or design, plus tattoo stickers and body paint
  • Covering the tattoo is not accepted
  • Tattooed guests may not use the facility at all, for any reason
No9 Oct 2026
Arashiyama Onsen Hanaikada嵐山温泉 彩四季の宿 花筏Kyoto · Arashiyama, Nishikyo-ku, KyotoRyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Kyoto Arashiyama Onsen Kadensho京都 嵐山温泉 花伝抄Kyoto · Arashiyama, Nishikyo-ku, KyotoRyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Kyoto Arashiyama Onsen Togetsutei京都 嵐山温泉 渡月亭Kyoto · Arashiyama, Nishikyo-ku, KyotoRyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Asaya Hotel鬼怒川温泉 あさやホテルNikko & Kinugawa · Kinugawa Onsen, Nikko, TochigiHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Guests with tattoos are asked not to use the large baths
  • Exception: a small one-point tattoo is OK if fully covered by a cover sticker
  • Cover stickers sold at the hotel's souvenir shop (Shuhokan 6F)
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen大江戸温泉物語 ホテル鬼怒川御苑Nikko & Kinugawa · Kinugawa Onsen, Nikko, TochigiHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
KAI Kinugawa界 鬼怒川Nikko & Kinugawa · Kinugawa Onsen, Nikko, TochigiRyokanAllowed with conditions
  • Hoshino Resorts policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • Staff may still refuse public-bath access if they judge other guests could feel afraid
  • The large bath is for hotel guests only
In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Oedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Kinugawa Kanko Hotel大江戸温泉物語 Premium 鬼怒川観光ホテルNikko & Kinugawa · Kinugawa Onsen, Nikko, TochigiHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
TAOYA Nikko KirifuriTAOYA日光霧降Nikko & Kinugawa · Kirifuri, Nikko, TochigiHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel中禅寺金谷ホテルNikko & Kinugawa · Chuzenji Onsen, Nikko, TochigiHotelNot stated on official site—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel鬼怒川温泉ホテルNikko & Kinugawa · Kinugawa Onsen, Nikko, TochigiHotelNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Nikko Wanoshiro Onsen Yashio-no-yu日光和の代温泉 やしおの湯(日光市温泉保養センター)Nikko & Kinugawa · Kiyotaki, Nikko, TochigiDay-use onsenNot stated on official site—No9 Oct 2026
Noboribetsu Manseikaku登別万世閣Noboribetsu · Noboribetsu Onsen, HokkaidoHotelNot allowed
  • Also refused: fake tattoo stickers and body painting
In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Bōrō NOGUCHI Noboribetsu望楼NOGUCHI登別Noboribetsu · Noboribetsu Onsen, HokkaidoHotelNot stated on official site—In-room bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Dai-ichi Takimotokan第一滝本館Noboribetsu · Noboribetsu Onsen, HokkaidoHotelNot stated on official site—In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Hotel Mahoroba登別温泉 ホテルまほろばNoboribetsu · Noboribetsu Onsen, HokkaidoHotelNot stated on official site—In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Hotel Yumoto Noboribetsuホテルゆもと登別Noboribetsu · Noboribetsu Onsen, HokkaidoHotelNot stated on official site—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Noboribetsu Grand Hotel登別グランドホテルNoboribetsu · Noboribetsu Onsen, HokkaidoHotelNot stated on official site—In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Noboribetsu Sekisuitei登別石水亭Noboribetsu · Noboribetsu Onsen, HokkaidoHotelNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Takinoya登別温泉郷 滝乃家Noboribetsu · Noboribetsu Onsen, HokkaidoRyokanNot stated on official site—In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Yumoto Sagiriyu夢元さぎり湯Noboribetsu · Noboribetsu Onsen, HokkaidoDay-use onsenNot stated on official site—No9 Oct 2026
Candeo Hotels Osaka Nambaカンデオホテルズ大阪なんばOsaka · Higashi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, OsakaHotelTattoos allowed
  • Rooftop SkySpa is for hotel guests only
  • Guests causing a nuisance may be asked to stop using the spa
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Candeo Hotels Osaka The Towerカンデオホテルズ大阪ザ・タワーOsaka · Dojimahama, Kita-ku, OsakaHotelTattoos allowed
  • Rooftop SkySpa is for hotel guests only
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Candeo Hotels Osaka Shinsaibashiカンデオホテルズ大阪心斎橋Osaka · Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, OsakaHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Guests with tattoos are asked to use tattoo cover stickers
  • Rooftop SkySpa is for hotel guests only
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Minoh Onsen Spa Garden箕面温泉スパーガーデン(大江戸温泉物語)Osaka · Minoh, OsakaDay-use onsenAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoos must be fully covered by up to 2 of the facility's paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ gives sticker size as 10 x 14 cm and price 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
  • Tattoos too large to cover with 2 stickers: entry refused
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Solaniwa Onsen Osaka Bay Tower空庭温泉 OSAKA BAY TOWEROsaka · Bentencho, Minato-ku, OsakaSuper sento / spa complexAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoos must be completely covered with the facility's own tattoo cover stickers (sold on site)
  • Since 2023-12-01 there is no limit on the number of stickers
  • Described as a trial operation; uncovered tattoos are refused
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Naniwa no Yu天然温泉 なにわの湯Osaka · Kita-ku, OsakaSuper sento / spa complexNot allowed
  • Entry refused with tattoos, including stickers, paint and fake tattoos
  • Guests found bathing with tattoos are asked to leave without refund
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Spa Worldスパワールド 世界の大温泉Osaka · Naniwa-ku, OsakaSuper sento / spa complexNot allowed
  • Entry refused to anyone with tattoos, including tattoo stickers/seals and ink
Private family bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Candeo Hotels Tokyo Roppongiカンデオホテルズ東京六本木Tokyo · Roppongi, Minato, TokyoHotelTattoos allowed
  • Rooftop SkySpa is for hotel guests only
  • Restrictions on body art/tattoos were removed on 2023-05-24
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Daikokuyu大黒湯Tokyo · Yokokawa, Sumida, TokyoSento (public bathhouse)Tattoos allowed—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Koganeyu (Tokyo store)黄金湯 東京店Tokyo · Taihei, Sumida, TokyoSento (public bathhouse)Tattoos allowed—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Asakusa ROX Matsuri-yu浅草ROXまつり湯Tokyo · Asakusa, Taito, TokyoSuper sento / spa complexAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoos/body art must be fully covered with up to 2 of the facility's designated stickers
  • Stickers are sold at the front desk
Not stated9 Oct 2026
HOSHINOYA Tokyo星のや東京Tokyo · Otemachi, Chiyoda, TokyoRyokanAllowed with conditions
  • Staff may still refuse public-bath access if they judge tattoos could make other guests uncomfortable
  • Hoshino Resorts group policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • The onsen is for hotel guests (not a day-use facility)
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Maenohara Onsen Saya-no-Yudokoro前野原温泉 さやの湯処Tokyo · Itabashi, TokyoDay-use onsenAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoo must be completely covered by up to 2 of the facility's designated cover stickers (11 x 20 cm)
  • Sticker price stated in the Feb 2024 notice: 310 yen each (as of 2026-10-09)
  • Tell the front desk about the tattoo on arrival; refusing to buy/use the stickers means no entry
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Thermae-Yu (Shinjuku)テルマー湯 新宿店Tokyo · Shinjuku, TokyoSuper sento / spa complexAllowed with conditions
  • Men who are foreign tourists: allowed if one designated tattoo sticker is worn (it may not cover everything); passport or air ticket must be shown
  • Men who live in Japan (Japanese or foreign residents): not admitted with any tattoo, regardless of size, even with stickers
  • Women (any nationality): fashion tattoos allowed on a trial basis; a single tattoo larger than 30 x 30 cm needs one designated sticker
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Tokyo Toyosu Manyo Club東京豊洲 万葉倶楽部Tokyo · Toyosu, Koto, TokyoSuper sento / spa complexAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoo must be fully covered by up to 2 of the facility's cover sheets (max 11 x 20 cm)
  • Cover sheets: 110 yen each incl. tax, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
  • Sheets must stay on in the bath and throughout the building; no cutting or modifying
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Keio Takaosan Onsen Gokurakuyu京王高尾山温泉 / 極楽湯Tokyo · Hachioji, TokyoDay-use onsenNot allowed
  • Entry refused with any tattoo, fashion tattoo or sticker tattoo, regardless of size
  • Covering with tape or stickers is not accepted
  • Tattooed guests also cannot use the restaurant or other rooms
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Shimizuyu清水湯Tokyo · Minami-Aoyama, Minato, TokyoSento (public bathhouse)Not allowed
  • Entry refused to anyone with tattoos, including henna tattoos
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Spa LaQua (Tokyo Dome City)東京ドーム天然温泉 スパ ラクーアTokyo · Bunkyo, TokyoSuper sento / spa complexNot allowed
  • Entry refused to anyone with tattoos or body art, including paint and stickers
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Times Spa RESTAタイムズ スパ・レスタTokyo · Higashi-Ikebukuro, Toshima, TokyoSuper sento / spa complexNot allowed
  • Entry refused with any tattoo regardless of size, including painted and sticker tattoos
  • Adults 18+ only
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Tokyo Somei Onsen SAKURA東京染井温泉 SAKURATokyo · Komagome, Toshima, TokyoDay-use onsenNot allowed
  • Entry refused for tattoos of any size
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Kosugiyu小杉湯Tokyo · Koenji, Suginami, TokyoSento (public bathhouse)Not stated on official site—Not stated9 Oct 2026
ONSEN RYOKAN YUEN SHINJUKUONSEN RYOKAN 由縁 新宿Tokyo · Shinjuku, TokyoRyokanNot stated on official site—Not stated9 Oct 2026

What do the policy labels mean?

  • Tattoos allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.

  • Allowed with conditions

    Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.

  • Not allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).

  • Not stated on official site

    We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.

Tattoo-friendly onsen by area