Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Nikko & Kinugawa / KAI Kinugawa
KAI Kinugawa: tattoo policy
界 鬼怒川 · Ryokan · Kinugawa Onsen, Nikko, Tochigi
KAI Kinugawa accepts guests with tattoos only under conditions set on its official website (checked 9 Oct 2026). Hoshino Resorts says it does not restrict guests with tattoos, but may refuse use of the large bath if it judges other guests could feel afraid. KAI Kinugawa's bath info links to this page.
Source: the facility’s official website. How we check
Can you go to KAI Kinugawa with tattoos?
!Allowed with conditions
Hoshino Resorts says it does not restrict guests with tattoos, but may refuse use of the large bath if it judges other guests could feel afraid. KAI Kinugawa's bath info links to this page.
Conditions stated by the facility
- Hoshino Resorts policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
- Staff may still refuse public-bath access if they judge other guests could feel afraid
- The large bath is for hotel guests only
Official source: https://hoshinoresorts.com/ja/sp/tattoo/ — checked 9 Oct 2026
Does KAI Kinugawa have a private bath?
Yes — the official site lists rooms with their own open-air bath. It does not say whether tattoos are OK in it.
- Type
- Rooms with their own open-air bath
- Booking
- Not stated
- Tattoos OK there?
- Not stated on official site
- Note
- The hotel promotes rooms with an open-air bath. No separate tattoo rule for them.
Where is KAI Kinugawa and how do you get there?
- Address
- 〒321-2526 栃木県日光市鬼怒川温泉滝308
- Nearest station
- About 15 min walk from Kinugawa-Onsen Station
- Area
- Nikko & Kinugawa · Kinugawa Onsen, Nikko, Tochigi
- Official website
- https://hoshinoresorts.com/ja/hotels/kaikinugawa/
- English page
- https://hoshinoresorts.com/en/hotels/kaikinugawa/
Address and access are copied as stated on the official site.
Sources
- Hoshino Resorts official page: tattoos (Japanese) — checked 9 Oct 2026
- Hoshino Resorts official page: tattoos (English) — checked 9 Oct 2026
- Hoshino Resorts official FAQ - Hotel Info — checked 9 Oct 2026
- KAI Kinugawa official page (Japanese) — checked 9 Oct 2026
- KAI Kinugawa official page (English) — checked 9 Oct 2026
Spotted a change? Tell us with the official URL. We re-check every policy at least every three months.
