Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Kinosaki

Tattoo-friendly onsen in Kinosaki

A canal-side hot-spring town in northern Hyogo, known for its seven public baths (soto-yu) and yukata strolls.

Of the 12 Kinosaki baths we checked on their official websites, 10 allow tattoos, 0 allow them with conditions, 0 do not allow them and 2 do not say. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.

Can you visit Kinosaki’s public baths with tattoos?

Yes. Toyooka City’s official tourism website says all seven public baths (soto-yu) of Kinosaki Onsen accept tattoos of any size, with no need to cover them. This is a town-wide rule for the public baths only.

The same official FAQ says ryokan may set different rules for their own in-house baths, so each ryokan below is listed with its own policy.

Two of the seven baths are closed at the time of our check: Kono-yu for repair work from 11 May until late October 2026 (planned), and Satono-yu, which has been closed for renovation since 1 April 2024.

Official source: Visit Kinosaki (Toyooka City official tourism site): Tattoo-friendly onsen of Kinosaki; Visit Kinosaki: FAQ; Kinosaki Onsen Tourism Association: Kono-yu long-term closure (Japanese); Visit Kinosaki: The 7 public baths — checked 9 Oct 2026

Which onsen in Kinosaki allow tattoos?

10 facilities in Kinosaki accept tattoos according to their official site:

Can you use a private onsen in Kinosaki with tattoos?

5 facilities in our Kinosaki list have an officially listed private bath; the official site says tattoos are OK in it for 2 of them. For the others the official site does not say, so ask before booking. See all private onsen.

All Kinosaki facilities we checked

Tattoo policies of onsen in Kinosaki
FacilityTypeTattoo policyConditionsPrivate bathChecked
Goshono-yu御所の湯Day-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Ichino-yu一の湯Day-use onsenTattoos allowed—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Jizo-yu地蔵湯Day-use onsenTattoos allowed—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Kawaguchiya Kinosaki Riverside Hotel川口屋城崎リバーサイドホテルHotelTattoos allowed—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Kinosaki Yamamotoya城崎温泉 山本屋RyokanTattoos allowed—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Kono-yu (Kinosaki Onsen public bath)鴻の湯Day-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Mandara-yuまんだら湯Day-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Nishimuraya Honkan西村屋本館RyokanTattoos allowed—In-room open-air bathTattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Nishimuraya Hotel Shogetsutei西村屋ホテル招月庭RyokanTattoos allowed
  • Large bath: tattoos OK unless the guest belongs to organized crime or another anti-social group
  • Fitness gym: guests with tattoos may not use it
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Yanagi-yu柳湯Day-use onsenTattoos allowed—No9 Oct 2026
Morizuya城崎温泉 岩窟風呂 森津屋RyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Tsutaya城崎温泉 旅館つたやRyokanNot stated on official site—No9 Oct 2026

“Not stated on official site” means we found no tattoo rule. It does not mean tattoos are allowed.

What do the labels mean?

  • Tattoos allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.

  • Allowed with conditions

    Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.

  • Not allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).

  • Not stated on official site

    We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.

Other areas

Tokyo · Hakone · Kyoto · Osaka · Beppu · Kusatsu · Ginzan · Noboribetsu · Nikko & Kinugawa · Atami · All areas · Onsen tattoo rules