Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Nikko & Kinugawa / Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen
Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen: tattoo policy
大江戸温泉物語 ホテル鬼怒川御苑 · Hotel · Kinugawa Onsen, Nikko, Tochigi
Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen accepts guests with tattoos only under conditions set on its official website (checked 9 Oct 2026). The hotel's bath page says guests with tattoos cannot use the large baths unless the tattoo is fully hidden under the hotel's paid cover stickers. It is run by the Oedo Onsen Monogatari group.
Source: the facility’s official website. How we check
Can you go to Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen with tattoos?
!Allowed with conditions
The hotel's bath page says guests with tattoos cannot use the large baths unless the tattoo is fully hidden under the hotel's paid cover stickers. It is run by the Oedo Onsen Monogatari group.
Conditions stated by the facility
- Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
- OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
- Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Official source: https://www.ooedoonsen.jp/kinugawa-gyoen/onsen/ — checked 9 Oct 2026
Does Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen have a private bath?
Yes — the official site lists a private bath you can reserve (kashikiri). It does not say whether tattoos are OK in it.
- Type
- Private bath you can reserve (kashikiri)
- Booking
- Overnight guests only; no advance booking, register on the day (until 23:00); 45 min
- Tattoos OK there?
- Not stated on official site
- Note
- The tattoo note on the bath page refers to the large baths only.
Where is Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen and how do you get there?
- Address
- 〒321-2521 栃木県日光市藤原1-1
- Nearest station
- Not stated
- Area
- Nikko & Kinugawa · Kinugawa Onsen, Nikko, Tochigi
- Official website
- https://www.ooedoonsen.jp/kinugawa-gyoen/
- Official booking
- https://go-ooedoonsen.reservation.jp/ja/hotels/kinugawa-gyoen/plans
Address and access are copied as stated on the official site.
Sources
- Official bath page (Japanese) — checked 9 Oct 2026
- Official hotel top page (address) — checked 9 Oct 2026
- Oedo Onsen Monogatari group FAQ: tattoos — checked 9 Oct 2026
Spotted a change? Tell us with the official URL. We re-check every policy at least every three months.
