Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Kyoto
Tattoo-friendly onsen in Kyoto
Historic sento in the city, plus hot-spring baths in Arashiyama, Ohara and Kurama.
Of the 7 Kyoto baths we checked on their official websites, 1 allow tattoos, 1 allow them with conditions, 2 do not allow them and 3 do not say. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.
- ✓Allowed 1
- !With conditions 1
- ✕Not allowed 2
- ?Not stated 3
Every policy links to the facility’s official page. How we check
Which onsen in Kyoto allow tattoos?
2 facilities in Kyoto accept tattoos according to their official site — some only under the condition shown:
- Candeo Hotels Kyoto Karasuma Rokkaku カンデオホテルズ京都烏丸六角 — Rooftop SkySpa is for hotel guests only
- Onyado Nono Kyoto Shichijo (Renge no Yu) 天然温泉 蓮花の湯 御宿 野乃京都七条 — Bathing is refused in principle for guests with tattoos
Which Kyoto onsen do not allow tattoos?
2 facilities say on the official site that guests with tattoos cannot use the shared baths:
- Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae (Hanahotaru no Yu) ドーミーインPREMIUM京都駅前 天然温泉 花蛍の湯
- Sagano Onsen Tenzan no Yu さがの温泉 天山の湯
Can you use a private onsen in Kyoto with tattoos?
3 facilities in our Kyoto list have an officially listed private bath; the official site says tattoos are OK in it for 0 of them. For the others the official site does not say, so ask before booking. See all private onsen.
All Kyoto facilities we checked
| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Conditions | Private bath | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Candeo Hotels Kyoto Karasuma Rokkakuカンデオホテルズ京都烏丸六角 | Hotel | ✓Tattoos allowed |
| No | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Onyado Nono Kyoto Shichijo (Renge no Yu)天然温泉 蓮花の湯 御宿 野乃京都七条 | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions |
| Not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae (Hanahotaru no Yu)ドーミーインPREMIUM京都駅前 天然温泉 花蛍の湯 | Hotel | ✕Not allowed |
| No | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Sagano Onsen Tenzan no Yuさがの温泉 天山の湯 | Super sento / spa complex | ✕Not allowed |
| No | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Arashiyama Onsen Hanaikada嵐山温泉 彩四季の宿 花筏 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | — | Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Kyoto Arashiyama Onsen Kadensho京都 嵐山温泉 花伝抄 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | — | Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Kyoto Arashiyama Onsen Togetsutei京都 嵐山温泉 渡月亭 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | — | Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
“Not stated on official site” means we found no tattoo rule. It does not mean tattoos are allowed.
What do the labels mean?
- ✓Tattoos allowed
The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.
- !Allowed with conditions
Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.
- ✕Not allowed
The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).
- ?Not stated on official site
We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.
Other areas
Tokyo · Hakone · Osaka · Beppu · Kinosaki · Kusatsu · Ginzan · Noboribetsu · Nikko & Kinugawa · Atami · All areas · Onsen tattoo rules