Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Ginzan

Tattoo-friendly onsen in Ginzan

A small hot-spring street of wooden ryokan along a river in Obanazawa, Yamagata.

Of the 6 Ginzan baths we checked on their official websites, 0 allow tattoos, 0 allow them with conditions, 1 do not allow them and 5 do not say. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.

Which onsen in Ginzan allow tattoos?

None of the Ginzan facilities we checked states that guests with tattoos may use its shared baths. Private baths are the usual alternative — see below.

Which Ginzan onsen do not allow tattoos?

1 facility says on the official site that guests with tattoos cannot use the shared baths:

Can you use a private onsen in Ginzan with tattoos?

4 facilities in our Ginzan list have an officially listed private bath; the official site says tattoos are OK in it for 0 of them. For the others the official site does not say, so ask before booking. See all private onsen.

Does Ginzan Onsen have a town-wide tattoo rule?

No. Neither Obanazawa City’s Ginzan Onsen page nor the Ginzan Onsen information site mentions tattoos, so each ryokan and bath decides for itself. Most of the ryokan below say nothing on their official sites; Ginzanso’s FAQ refuses guests with tattoos.

Sources: Obanazawa City: Ginzan Onsen (Japanese); Ginzan Onsen information site (Japanese) — checked 9 Oct 2026

All Ginzan facilities we checked

Tattoo policies of onsen in Ginzan
FacilityTypeTattoo policyConditionsPrivate bathChecked
Ginzanso仙峡の宿 銀山荘RyokanNot allowed
  • Guests with tattoos are asked not to bathe in the shared baths
  • No private/family bath; rooms with their own semi-open-air bath exist
In-room bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Fujiya Inn銀山温泉 藤屋RyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Honkan Kosekiya本館古勢起屋RyokanNot stated on official site—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Notoya Ryokan能登屋旅館RyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Shirogane-yu (Ginzan Onsen public bath)しろがね湯Day-use onsenNot stated on official site—No9 Oct 2026
Takimikan滝と蕎麦の宿 瀧見館RyokanNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026

“Not stated on official site” means we found no tattoo rule. It does not mean tattoos are allowed.

What do the labels mean?

  • Tattoos allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.

  • Allowed with conditions

    Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.

  • Not allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).

  • Not stated on official site

    We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.

Other areas

Tokyo · Hakone · Kyoto · Osaka · Beppu · Kinosaki · Kusatsu · Noboribetsu · Nikko & Kinugawa · Atami · All areas · Onsen tattoo rules