Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Atami

Tattoo-friendly onsen in Atami

A seaside hot-spring resort in Shizuoka with large resort hotels and day-use spas.

Of the 10 Atami baths we checked on their official websites, 0 allow tattoos, 7 allow them with conditions, 2 do not allow them and 1 do not say. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.

Which onsen in Atami allow tattoos?

7 facilities in Atami accept tattoos according to their official site — some only under the condition shown:

  • Atami Onsen Yuyado Mikan no Ki 熱海温泉 湯宿みかんの木 — Tattoos should be covered with a towel
  • Hotel New Akao ホテルニューアカオ — Official pages CONFLICT - see notes
  • Marine Spa Atami マリンスパあたみ — Guests with tattoos are asked to cover them with tape or a rash guard
  • Oedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Atami 大江戸温泉物語 Premium あたみ — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • RISONARE Atami リゾナーレ熱海 — Hoshino Resorts policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • TAOYA Atami TAOYA熱海 — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • Tsuki no Sumika Atami Juraku Hotel 月のすみか 熱海聚楽ホテル — Small tattoos (about postcard size or smaller) can be shown without covering; larger tattoos are not addressed

Which Atami onsen do not allow tattoos?

2 facilities say on the official site that guests with tattoos cannot use the shared baths:

Can you use a private onsen in Atami with tattoos?

3 facilities in our Atami list have an officially listed private bath; the official site says tattoos are OK in it for 0 of them. For the others the official site does not say, so ask before booking. See all private onsen.

Does Atami have a town-wide tattoo rule?

No. Atami’s official English tourism site has a tattoo guide, but it lists facility-by-facility rules and tells visitors to check each facility’s official site. The rules in Atami range from refusal to cover stickers, as the table below shows.

Sources: Visit Atami (Atami Tourism Bureau): Tattoo-friendly onsen — checked 9 Oct 2026

All Atami facilities we checked

Tattoo policies of onsen in Atami
FacilityTypeTattoo policyConditionsPrivate bathChecked
Atami Onsen Yuyado Mikan no Ki熱海温泉 湯宿みかんの木RyokanAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoos should be covered with a towel
  • Staff may speak to guests if other guests complain
  • Source is the Atami Tourism Bureau's official travel site (page updated 2026-08-20); the facility's own website does not mention tattoos (checked 2026-10-09)
No9 Oct 2026
Hotel New AkaoホテルニューアカオHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Official pages CONFLICT - see notes
  • Main FAQ: OK for the onsen and pool if tattoos are hidden from other guests with cover stickers
  • Bath page (JP and EN): people with tattoos or body art are refused entry
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Marine Spa AtamiマリンスパあたみDay-use onsenAllowed with conditions
  • Guests with tattoos are asked to cover them with tape or a rash guard
  • Phrased as a request for cooperation; the page does not say whether this covers the baths, the pool, or both
No9 Oct 2026
Oedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Atami大江戸温泉物語 Premium あたみHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Not stated9 Oct 2026
RISONARE Atamiリゾナーレ熱海HotelAllowed with conditions
  • Hoshino Resorts policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • Staff may still refuse public-bath access if they judge other guests could feel afraid
  • Pool: guests may be asked to wear a rash guard or similar to cover tattoos (bring your own; not provided)
Not stated9 Oct 2026
TAOYA AtamiTAOYA熱海HotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Tsuki no Sumika Atami Juraku Hotel月のすみか 熱海聚楽ホテルHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Small tattoos (about postcard size or smaller) can be shown without covering; larger tattoos are not addressed
  • Day-use bathing is not offered
  • Source is the Atami Tourism Bureau's official travel site (page updated 2026-08-20); the facility's own website does not mention tattoos (checked 2026-10-09)
No9 Oct 2026
Atami Korakuen Hotel熱海後楽園ホテルHotelNot allowed
  • Applies to the large view bath 'Kaibo no Yu'
  • Body art incl. tattoo paint and stickers is also refused
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Ocean Spa Fuuaオーシャンスパ FuuaDay-use onsenNot allowed
  • Body art incl. tattoo paint and stickers is also refused
  • Entry to the whole facility is refused
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Atami Seaside Spa & Resort熱海シーサイド スパ&リゾートHotelNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026

“Not stated on official site” means we found no tattoo rule. It does not mean tattoos are allowed.

What do the labels mean?

  • Tattoos allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.

  • Allowed with conditions

    Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.

  • Not allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).

  • Not stated on official site

    We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.

Other areas

Tokyo · Hakone · Kyoto · Osaka · Beppu · Kinosaki · Kusatsu · Ginzan · Noboribetsu · Nikko & Kinugawa · All areas · Onsen tattoo rules