Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Hakone
Tattoo-friendly onsen in Hakone
A hot-spring resort area west of Tokyo with day-use baths and many ryokan with private baths.
Of the 9 Hakone baths we checked on their official websites, 1 allow tattoos, 4 allow them with conditions, 2 do not allow them and 2 do not say. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.
- ✓Allowed 1
- !With conditions 4
- ✕Not allowed 2
- ?Not stated 2
Every policy links to the facility’s official page. How we check
Which onsen in Hakone allow tattoos?
5 facilities in Hakone accept tattoos according to their official site — some only under the condition shown:
- Hakone Yuryo 箱根湯寮
- Hakone Kowakien Yunessun / Mori no Yu 箱根小涌園ユネッサン・森の湯 — Tattoos (incl. stickers/paint) are refused in principle
- Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tenzan (Tenzan Tohji-kyo) 箱根湯本温泉 天山湯治郷 ひがな湯治 天山 — A tattooed guest visiting alone is not refused
- TAOYA Hakone TAOYA箱根 — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
- Yumoto Fujiya Hotel 湯本富士屋ホテル — Refused in principle in the large bath
Which Hakone onsen do not allow tattoos?
2 facilities say on the official site that guests with tattoos cannot use the shared baths:
- Fujiya Hotel 富士屋ホテル
- Hakone Kowakien Ten-yu 箱根小涌園 天悠
Can you use a private onsen in Hakone with tattoos?
7 facilities in our Hakone list have an officially listed private bath; the official site says tattoos are OK in it for 2 of them. For the others the official site does not say, so ask before booking. See all private onsen.
- Hakone Yuryo 箱根湯寮
- Hakone Kowakien Yunessun / Mori no Yu 箱根小涌園ユネッサン・森の湯
All Hakone facilities we checked
| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Conditions | Private bath | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hakone Yuryo箱根湯寮 | Day-use onsen | ✓Tattoos allowed | — | Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hakone Kowakien Yunessun / Mori no Yu箱根小涌園ユネッサン・森の湯 | Day-use onsen | !Allowed with conditions |
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hakone Yumoto Onsen Tenzan (Tenzan Tohji-kyo)箱根湯本温泉 天山湯治郷 ひがな湯治 天山 | Day-use onsen | !Allowed with conditions |
| No | 9 Oct 2026 |
| TAOYA HakoneTAOYA箱根 | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions |
| Not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Yumoto Fujiya Hotel湯本富士屋ホテル | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions |
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Fujiya Hotel富士屋ホテル | Hotel | ✕Not allowed |
| In-room bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hakone Kowakien Ten-yu箱根小涌園 天悠 | Ryokan | ✕Not allowed |
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hakone Yumoto Onsen Hotel Okada箱根湯本温泉 ホテルおかだ | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | — | Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hakone Yumoto Onsen Kappa Tengoku箱根湯本温泉 かっぱ天国 | Day-use onsen | ?Not stated on official site | — | Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
“Not stated on official site” means we found no tattoo rule. It does not mean tattoos are allowed.
What do the labels mean?
- ✓Tattoos allowed
The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.
- !Allowed with conditions
Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.
- ✕Not allowed
The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).
- ?Not stated on official site
We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.
Other areas
Tokyo · Kyoto · Osaka · Beppu · Kinosaki · Kusatsu · Ginzan · Noboribetsu · Nikko & Kinugawa · Atami · All areas · Onsen tattoo rules