Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Noboribetsu
Tattoo-friendly onsen in Noboribetsu
A hot-spring town in Hokkaido next to Jigokudani (Hell Valley), with large hotels and a public bath.
Of the 9 Noboribetsu baths we checked on their official websites, 0 allow tattoos, 0 allow them with conditions, 1 do not allow them and 8 do not say. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.
- ✓Allowed 0
- !With conditions 0
- ✕Not allowed 1
- ?Not stated 8
Every policy links to the facility’s official page. How we check
Which onsen in Noboribetsu allow tattoos?
None of the Noboribetsu facilities we checked states that guests with tattoos may use its shared baths. Private baths are the usual alternative — see below.
Which Noboribetsu onsen do not allow tattoos?
1 facility says on the official site that guests with tattoos cannot use the shared baths:
- Noboribetsu Manseikaku 登別万世閣
Can you use a private onsen in Noboribetsu with tattoos?
7 facilities in our Noboribetsu list have an officially listed private bath; the official site says tattoos are OK in it for 0 of them. For the others the official site does not say, so ask before booking. See all private onsen.
Does Noboribetsu have a town-wide tattoo rule?
No. The Noboribetsu tourism association’s FAQ only says that many facilities do not allow tattoos and that you should ask each hotel or bath directly. It names no facilities and sets no conditions, so we list each facility’s own rule.
Sources: Noboribetsu International Tourism and Convention Association: FAQ, onsen and lodging (Japanese) — checked 9 Oct 2026
All Noboribetsu facilities we checked
| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Conditions | Private bath | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Noboribetsu Manseikaku登別万世閣 | Hotel | ✕Not allowed |
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Bōrō NOGUCHI Noboribetsu望楼NOGUCHI登別 | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | — | In-room bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Dai-ichi Takimotokan第一滝本館 | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | — | In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hotel Mahoroba登別温泉 ホテルまほろば | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | — | In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hotel Yumoto Noboribetsuホテルゆもと登別 | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | — | Not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Noboribetsu Grand Hotel登別グランドホテル | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | — | In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Noboribetsu Sekisuitei登別石水亭 | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | — | Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Takinoya登別温泉郷 滝乃家 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | — | In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Yumoto Sagiriyu夢元さぎり湯 | Day-use onsen | ?Not stated on official site | — | No | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
“Not stated on official site” means we found no tattoo rule. It does not mean tattoos are allowed.
What do the labels mean?
- ✓Tattoos allowed
The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.
- !Allowed with conditions
Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.
- ✕Not allowed
The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).
- ?Not stated on official site
We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.
Other areas
Tokyo · Hakone · Kyoto · Osaka · Beppu · Kinosaki · Kusatsu · Ginzan · Nikko & Kinugawa · Atami · All areas · Onsen tattoo rules