Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Nikko & Kinugawa

Tattoo-friendly onsen in Nikko & Kinugawa

Large riverside onsen hotels in Kinugawa, plus Nikko’s city-run day bath and lakeside hotels.

Of the 8 Nikko & Kinugawa baths we checked on their official websites, 0 allow tattoos, 5 allow them with conditions, 0 do not allow them and 3 do not say. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.

Which onsen in Nikko & Kinugawa allow tattoos?

5 facilities in Nikko & Kinugawa accept tattoos according to their official site — some only under the condition shown:

  • Asaya Hotel 鬼怒川温泉 あさやホテル — Guests with tattoos are asked not to use the large baths
  • Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen 大江戸温泉物語 ホテル鬼怒川御苑 — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • KAI Kinugawa 界 鬼怒川 — Hoshino Resorts policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • Oedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Kinugawa Kanko Hotel 大江戸温泉物語 Premium 鬼怒川観光ホテル — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • TAOYA Nikko Kirifuri TAOYA日光霧降 — Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos

Can you use a private onsen in Nikko & Kinugawa with tattoos?

6 facilities in our Nikko & Kinugawa list have an officially listed private bath; the official site says tattoos are OK in it for 1 of them. For the others the official site does not say, so ask before booking. See all private onsen.

Do Nikko and Kinugawa have an area-wide tattoo rule?

We found none. The Nikko City Tourism Association’s FAQ and Nikko City’s pages for its municipal baths do not mention tattoos, so each hotel decides for itself. Nikko City lists the Kinugawa Koen Iwaburo public bath as closed.

Sources: Nikko City Tourism Association: FAQ (Japanese); Nikko City: Yashio-no-yu (Japanese) — checked 9 Oct 2026

All Nikko & Kinugawa facilities we checked

Tattoo policies of onsen in Nikko & Kinugawa
FacilityTypeTattoo policyConditionsPrivate bathChecked
Asaya Hotel鬼怒川温泉 あさやホテルHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Guests with tattoos are asked not to use the large baths
  • Exception: a small one-point tattoo is OK if fully covered by a cover sticker
  • Cover stickers sold at the hotel's souvenir shop (Shuhokan 6F)
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there9 Oct 2026
Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen大江戸温泉物語 ホテル鬼怒川御苑HotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
KAI Kinugawa界 鬼怒川RyokanAllowed with conditions
  • Hoshino Resorts policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • Staff may still refuse public-bath access if they judge other guests could feel afraid
  • The large bath is for hotel guests only
In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Oedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Kinugawa Kanko Hotel大江戸温泉物語 Premium 鬼怒川観光ホテルHotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
TAOYA Nikko KirifuriTAOYA日光霧降HotelAllowed with conditions
  • Large baths refused in principle for guests with tattoos
  • OK only if the tattoo is completely covered with the hotel's own paid cover stickers
  • Group FAQ: up to two 10 x 14 cm stickers, 220 yen each, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel中禅寺金谷ホテルHotelNot stated on official site—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel鬼怒川温泉ホテルHotelNot stated on official site—Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Nikko Wanoshiro Onsen Yashio-no-yu日光和の代温泉 やしおの湯(日光市温泉保養センター)Day-use onsenNot stated on official site—No9 Oct 2026

“Not stated on official site” means we found no tattoo rule. It does not mean tattoos are allowed.

What do the labels mean?

  • Tattoos allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.

  • Allowed with conditions

    Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.

  • Not allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).

  • Not stated on official site

    We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.

Other areas

Tokyo · Hakone · Kyoto · Osaka · Beppu · Kinosaki · Kusatsu · Ginzan · Noboribetsu · Atami · All areas · Onsen tattoo rules