Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Tokyo

Tattoo-friendly onsen in Tokyo

Large “super sento” spa complexes, neighbourhood sento bathhouses and city hotels with baths.

Of the 15 Tokyo baths we checked on their official websites, 3 allow tattoos, 5 allow them with conditions, 5 do not allow them and 2 do not say. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.

Which onsen in Tokyo allow tattoos?

8 facilities in Tokyo accept tattoos according to their official site — some only under the condition shown:

  • Candeo Hotels Tokyo Roppongi カンデオホテルズ東京六本木 — Rooftop SkySpa is for hotel guests only
  • Daikokuyu 大黒湯
  • Koganeyu (Tokyo store) 黄金湯 東京店
  • Asakusa ROX Matsuri-yu 浅草ROXまつり湯 — Tattoos/body art must be fully covered with up to 2 of the facility's designated stickers
  • HOSHINOYA Tokyo 星のや東京 — Staff may still refuse public-bath access if they judge tattoos could make other guests uncomfortable
  • Maenohara Onsen Saya-no-Yudokoro 前野原温泉 さやの湯処 — Tattoo must be completely covered by up to 2 of the facility's designated cover stickers (11 x 20 cm)
  • Thermae-Yu (Shinjuku) テルマー湯 新宿店 — Men who are foreign tourists: allowed if one designated tattoo sticker is worn (it may not cover everything); passport or air ticket must be shown
  • Tokyo Toyosu Manyo Club 東京豊洲 万葉倶楽部 — Tattoo must be fully covered by up to 2 of the facility's cover sheets (max 11 x 20 cm)

Which Tokyo onsen do not allow tattoos?

5 facilities say on the official site that guests with tattoos cannot use the shared baths:

Can you use a private onsen in Tokyo with tattoos?

1 facility in our Tokyo list has an officially listed private bath; the official site says tattoos are OK in it for 0 of them. For the others the official site does not say, so ask before booking. See all private onsen.

Is Oedo Onsen Monogatari in Odaiba still open?

No. The Odaiba theme-park bath closed in September 2021 and is no longer listed on the Oedo Onsen Monogatari group’s official website. The group’s facility search lists no location in Tokyo; it now runs hotels, ryokan and day-use baths elsewhere in Japan.

The group’s FAQ says guests with tattoos cannot use the large baths unless each tattoo is completely covered by up to two 10 × 14 cm cover stickers sold at the front desk (220 yen each as of 9 Oct 2026). The same rule applies at its day-use bath facilities. Two locations in our data follow it: TAOYA Hakone and Minoh Onsen Spa Garden (Osaka Prefecture).

TAOYA Hakone · Minoh Onsen Spa Garden

Sources: Oedo Onsen Monogatari group: facility search; Oedo Onsen Monogatari group FAQ: tattoos — checked 9 Oct 2026

Do Tokyo sento have one tattoo rule?

No. The Tokyo Sento Association does not publish a tattoo rule in its Q&A or its English guide, so each bathhouse decides for itself — which is why the Tokyo sento below range from “allowed” to “not allowed”.

Sources: Tokyo Sento Association: How to enjoy sento (English); Tokyo Sento Association: Q&A (Japanese) — checked 9 Oct 2026

All Tokyo facilities we checked

Tattoo policies of onsen in Tokyo
FacilityTypeTattoo policyConditionsPrivate bathChecked
Candeo Hotels Tokyo Roppongiカンデオホテルズ東京六本木HotelTattoos allowed
  • Rooftop SkySpa is for hotel guests only
  • Restrictions on body art/tattoos were removed on 2023-05-24
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Daikokuyu大黒湯Sento (public bathhouse)Tattoos allowed—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Koganeyu (Tokyo store)黄金湯 東京店Sento (public bathhouse)Tattoos allowed—Not stated9 Oct 2026
Asakusa ROX Matsuri-yu浅草ROXまつり湯Super sento / spa complexAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoos/body art must be fully covered with up to 2 of the facility's designated stickers
  • Stickers are sold at the front desk
Not stated9 Oct 2026
HOSHINOYA Tokyo星のや東京RyokanAllowed with conditions
  • Staff may still refuse public-bath access if they judge tattoos could make other guests uncomfortable
  • Hoshino Resorts group policy: no restriction on facility use because of tattoos
  • The onsen is for hotel guests (not a day-use facility)
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Maenohara Onsen Saya-no-Yudokoro前野原温泉 さやの湯処Day-use onsenAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoo must be completely covered by up to 2 of the facility's designated cover stickers (11 x 20 cm)
  • Sticker price stated in the Feb 2024 notice: 310 yen each (as of 2026-10-09)
  • Tell the front desk about the tattoo on arrival; refusing to buy/use the stickers means no entry
Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated9 Oct 2026
Thermae-Yu (Shinjuku)テルマー湯 新宿店Super sento / spa complexAllowed with conditions
  • Men who are foreign tourists: allowed if one designated tattoo sticker is worn (it may not cover everything); passport or air ticket must be shown
  • Men who live in Japan (Japanese or foreign residents): not admitted with any tattoo, regardless of size, even with stickers
  • Women (any nationality): fashion tattoos allowed on a trial basis; a single tattoo larger than 30 x 30 cm needs one designated sticker
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Tokyo Toyosu Manyo Club東京豊洲 万葉倶楽部Super sento / spa complexAllowed with conditions
  • Tattoo must be fully covered by up to 2 of the facility's cover sheets (max 11 x 20 cm)
  • Cover sheets: 110 yen each incl. tax, sold at the front desk (as of 2026-10-09)
  • Sheets must stay on in the bath and throughout the building; no cutting or modifying
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Keio Takaosan Onsen Gokurakuyu京王高尾山温泉 / 極楽湯Day-use onsenNot allowed
  • Entry refused with any tattoo, fashion tattoo or sticker tattoo, regardless of size
  • Covering with tape or stickers is not accepted
  • Tattooed guests also cannot use the restaurant or other rooms
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Shimizuyu清水湯Sento (public bathhouse)Not allowed
  • Entry refused to anyone with tattoos, including henna tattoos
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Spa LaQua (Tokyo Dome City)東京ドーム天然温泉 スパ ラクーアSuper sento / spa complexNot allowed
  • Entry refused to anyone with tattoos or body art, including paint and stickers
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Times Spa RESTAタイムズ スパ・レスタSuper sento / spa complexNot allowed
  • Entry refused with any tattoo regardless of size, including painted and sticker tattoos
  • Adults 18+ only
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Tokyo Somei Onsen SAKURA東京染井温泉 SAKURADay-use onsenNot allowed
  • Entry refused for tattoos of any size
Not stated9 Oct 2026
Kosugiyu小杉湯Sento (public bathhouse)Not stated on official site—Not stated9 Oct 2026
ONSEN RYOKAN YUEN SHINJUKUONSEN RYOKAN 由縁 新宿RyokanNot stated on official site—Not stated9 Oct 2026

“Not stated on official site” means we found no tattoo rule. It does not mean tattoos are allowed.

What do the labels mean?

  • Tattoos allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.

  • Allowed with conditions

    Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.

  • Not allowed

    The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).

  • Not stated on official site

    We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.

Other areas

Hakone · Kyoto · Osaka · Beppu · Kinosaki · Kusatsu · Ginzan · Noboribetsu · Nikko & Kinugawa · Atami · All areas · Onsen tattoo rules