Home / Private onsen
Private onsen: kashikiri baths and ryokan with private onsen
A private bath is the option many facilities themselves point to for guests with tattoos. Here is what each official site says.
50 facilities in our list have a private bath on their official site. The official site says guests with tattoos can use the private bath at 8 of them, and does not say at the rest. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.
Only private baths described on the facility’s own website are listed. How we check
What is a kashikiri onsen?
Kashikiri (貸切) means “reserved for you”: a bath that one group uses alone for a set time, either booked ahead or on the day. Ryokan and hotels may also have rooms with their own bath, often an open-air one (rotenburo). Rules on who may book, for how long and at what cost differ by facility, so we show only what each official site states.
38 of the facilities below list a reservable private bath and 12 list rooms with their own bath.
Can you use a private onsen with tattoos?
Often yes, but only where the facility says so. The official sites of Hakone Yuryo, Hakone Kowakien Yunessun / Mori no Yu, Kinosaki Yamamotoya, Nishimuraya Honkan and Otakinoyu and 3 more state that tattoos are OK in their private bath. Where the site is silent we show “Tattoo rule not stated” — ask the facility before you book.
Private onsen in Tokyo
Private baths in Tokyo| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Maenohara Onsen Saya-no-Yudokoro前野原温泉 さやの湯処 | Day-use onsen | !Allowed with conditions | - Private bath 'Akari' in 1-hour slots, reservable online (link on the English page)
- Private bath exists; official pages do not say whether it can be used with uncovered tattoos. Itabashi rules: no mixed use from age 7.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Hakone
Private baths in Hakone| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Hakone Yuryo箱根湯寮 | Day-use onsen | ✓Tattoos allowed | - Online reservation (TableCheck) from 1 month before until 15:00 the day before; after that by phone. Bookable from 2 hours, extendable in 30-min units.
- 19 private open-air bath rooms ('Hanare Yuya Kaden'). The tattoo restriction was lifted facility-wide; the site has no separate tattoo rule for private rooms.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hakone Kowakien Yunessun / Mori no Yu箱根小涌園ユネッサン・森の湯 | Day-use onsen | !Allowed with conditions | - Reservation required, online only (no phone reservations); 8 rooms
- The FAQ directs tattooed guests who cannot fully cover their tattoos to the private baths.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Yumoto Fujiya Hotel湯本富士屋ホテル | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions | - 45-min slots starting on the hour; advance reservation by form or phone (overnight guests); same-day by phone or at the front desk
- Indoor private baths for 2-5 people; no private bath with open-air. Official site does not say whether tattoos are OK in the private baths.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Fujiya Hotel富士屋ホテル | Hotel | ✕Not allowed | - All 120 guest room bathrooms run hot spring water from the hotel's own sources. No rentable private/family bath for overnight guests (FAQ). Official site does not say anything about tattoos and in-room baths, though they are inside the guest's own room.
| In-room bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hakone Kowakien Ten-yu箱根小涌園 天悠 | Ryokan | ✕Not allowed | - All guest rooms have an open-air hot spring bath. The site does not state a tattoo rule for in-room baths.
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hakone Yumoto Onsen Hotel Okada箱根湯本温泉 ホテルおかだ | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | - Reservation required; 45 min, starting on the hour. Also rooms with open-air or indoor hot spring baths.
- Private family bath in a separate building; several room types have their own open-air bath.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hakone Yumoto Onsen Kappa Tengoku箱根湯本温泉 かっぱ天国 | Day-use onsen | ?Not stated on official site | - 45 min per use (separate bath admission also required)
- Private bath recommended for families with small children. Some guest rooms have their own cypress open-air bath.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Kyoto
Private baths in Kyoto| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Arashiyama Onsen Hanaikada嵐山温泉 彩四季の宿 花筏 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - Reservation required; 40 min; private open-air bath on the rooftop floor (last entry 23:00); for day visitors only with a meal plan
- Rooftop private open-air bath; 2 rooms with hot spring baths and 2 detached rooms.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Kyoto Arashiyama Onsen Kadensho京都 嵐山温泉 花伝抄 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - No reservation; free; first come first served (use when the 'in use' lamp is off); available 24 hours
- Five private bathhouses, three of them open-air (heated water, not the natural spring).
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Kyoto Arashiyama Onsen Togetsutei京都 嵐山温泉 渡月亭 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - Overnight guests only; 45 or 105 min; evening 16:00-24:00 and morning 6:00-9:00
- Private natural hot spring bath 'Tsukuyomi no Yu' (up to 4 people); some rooms have hinoki or natural hot spring baths.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Osaka
Private baths in Osaka| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Minoh Onsen Spa Garden箕面温泉スパーガーデン(大江戸温泉物語) | Day-use onsen | !Allowed with conditions | - Paid private bath exists (not onsen water per the official page); tattoo rule for it not stated.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Solaniwa Onsen Osaka Bay Tower空庭温泉 OSAKA BAY TOWER | Super sento / spa complex | !Allowed with conditions | - 10 private open-air bath rooms, bookable online or by phone on the day (11:00-19:00); admission fee charged separately
- Spring-fed private open-air rooms; mixed use limited to families. Official pages do not say whether tattoos can be uncovered there.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Spa Worldスパワールド 世界の大温泉 | Super sento / spa complex | ✕Not allowed | - Reservation required; at the 2F information counter, by phone, or via the online reservation system (as stated on the official page)
- Family private bath (2 rooms, natural onsen + sauna) for families only per Osaka city rules; the page does not say whether tattooed guests may use it.
| Private family bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Beppu
Private baths in Beppu| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Onyado Nono Beppu別府八湯 御宿 野乃別府 | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions | - First come, first served; about 45 min per use
- 7 private baths themed on Beppu onsen districts (2 indoor, 5 open-air). Official page does not say whether the tattoo rule applies to them.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Suginoi Hotel別府温泉 杉乃井ホテル | Hotel | ✕Not allowed | - Same-day reservation only, at the Tanayu counter (Suginoi Palace 2F); 60 min; day visitors also allowed
- 5 private baths 'Oita Goto' opened in 2026. Official pages do not say whether tattooed guests may use them.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hyotan Onsenひょうたん温泉 | Day-use onsen | ?Not stated on official site | - Advance reservation required for all family baths; by phone from 1 week before (dedicated line); 60/75/90-min courses; 1 hour only on weekends/holidays
- 14 types of family baths (8 indoor, 6 outdoor).
| Private family bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Shibaseki Onsen柴石温泉 | Sento (public bathhouse) | ?Not stated on official site | - 1 hour per use, up to 4 people; reservation method not stated (city FAQ says no municipal onsen accepts bathing reservations)
- Municipal family bath (kazoku-yu).
| Private family bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Kinosaki
Private baths in Kinosaki| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Kawaguchiya Kinosaki Riverside Hotel川口屋城崎リバーサイドホテル | Hotel | ✓Tattoos allowed | - Reservation required, extra charge; first come first served at the front desk on the day of stay (no advance phone booking)
- Two private rooftop open-air baths on the 6th floor ('Hoshi no Osanpo', 'Yume no Kayoiji'); some special rooms have open-air baths. FAQ does not say separately whether tattooed guests may use the private baths.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Kinosaki Yamamotoya城崎温泉 山本屋 | Ryokan | ✓Tattoos allowed | - Advance reservation required; 40 min; five groups a day; paid
- Private open-air bath "Sen-yu" for staying guests. The no-restriction answer covers bathing at the inn generally; there is no separate rule for the private bath.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Nishimuraya Honkan西村屋本館 | Ryokan | ✓Tattoos allowed | - Book a room type with its own open-air bath (eight room types listed)
- Several rooms and suites have their own open-air bath; the ryokan states no tattoo restriction. A reservable private open-air bath is offered for an extra fee at the sister hotel Nishimuraya Hotel Shogetsutei.
| In-room open-air bathTattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Nishimuraya Hotel Shogetsutei西村屋ホテル招月庭 | Ryokan | ✓Tattoos allowed | - Staying guests of Shogetsutei or Nishimuraya Honkan only; before arrival by email/phone, on site via extension 9; 70-min slots
- Three private open-air 'Private Spa in the Forest' rooms (Gingetsu, FU-RO, Rinsen) with rock sauna and lounge; paid; for guests of Shogetsutei or Nishimuraya Honkan only. Private spa tattooOk not stated separately (large bath has no tattoo restriction).
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Morizuya城崎温泉 岩窟風呂 森津屋 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - Weekdays (Mon–Fri) only; apply at check-in; 40 min; may be unavailable when busy; until 22:30 on weekdays (EN page)
- The inn's two baths (cave bath and open-air bath) can be used privately on weekdays. No tattoo statement.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Kusatsu
Private baths in Kusatsu| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Otakinoyu大滝乃湯 | Day-use onsen | ✓Tattoos allowed | - Reservation system, booked at the front desk; rented by the hour, 9:00–19:00 (last booking 18:00); bath admission charged separately
- Private bath "Shakunage". The tattoo statement covers the whole facility; there is no separate tattoo rule for the private bath.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Gensen Ichinoyu源泉一乃湯 | Ryokan | !Allowed with conditions | - Staying guests: ask at the front desk, 45 min, 15:00–9:00. Day visitors ("Tachiyori Gensen Ichinoyu"): book in person or online in advance
- The FAQ says guests with tattoos can use the private bath.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Kirishimaya Ryokan草津温泉 桐島屋旅館 | Ryokan | !Allowed with conditions | - A private bath for two adults, usable by single guests. The top page offers it to guests who are unsure about the shared bath, but does not state a tattoo rule for it.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Naraya草津温泉 奈良屋 | Ryokan | !Allowed with conditions | - Overnight guests: book on arrival day at check-in (no advance booking); 45 min; available 24h. Day visitors: 12:30–14:00
- 3 private baths ('Hi', 'Fu', 'Mi'). FAQ explicitly says tattooed guests can use the paid private baths. A suite has its own semi-open-air bath.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Ryokan Tamura旅館たむら | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - No reservation; free; 40 min per use, whenever vacant
- Two free private baths plus men's/women's indoor baths. No tattoo statement.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Tsutsujiteiつつじ亭 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - Main-building (Sakon-no-mune) guests only; apply at the front desk on the day of stay; 45 min, paid
- Private open-air bath 'Tama-no-yu'. No tattoo statement.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Ura-Kusatsu TOU裏草津 蕩 TOU | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | - Overnight guests only; ask the front desk about availability
- Four private baths, and every guest room has its own open-air bath.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Ginzan
Private baths in Ginzan| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Ginzanso仙峡の宿 銀山荘 | Ryokan | ✕Not allowed | - Book a room type with its own semi-open-air bath
- FAQ: no kashikiri or family bath; recommends rooms with a semi-open-air bath. Whether tattooed guests may use these in-room baths is not stated.
| In-room bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Fujiya Inn銀山温泉 藤屋 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - No booking: guests use any free bath, 24 hours, with no time limit
- All five baths (Bamboo, Cedar, Sky, Stone, Underground) are private rooms; there are no shared baths. Some special rooms also have their own bath. No tattoo statement.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Notoya Ryokan能登屋旅館 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - The original cave bath (洞窟風呂) is used as a private bath. The hilltop panoramic open-air bath (also private) is closed in winter and was closed for the season due to bear sightings (notice dated 2025-10-22).
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Takimikan滝と蕎麦の宿 瀧見館 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - Only for guests staying in the annex 'Bettei Takimikan'
- Private bath at the annex (別邸 瀧見舘). No tattoo statement.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Noboribetsu
Private baths in Noboribetsu| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Noboribetsu Manseikaku登別万世閣 | Hotel | ✕Not allowed | - Book an 11th-floor room with an open-air or view bath
- Only the 11th-floor rooms with an open-air bath or view bath use hot-spring water; other room baths are heated tap water.
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Bōrō NOGUCHI Noboribetsu望楼NOGUCHI登別 | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | - Every room has its own hot-spring view bath. Tattoo use not mentioned.
| In-room bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Dai-ichi Takimotokan第一滝本館 | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | - Book one of the two suite types with a hot-spring open-air bath
- The FAQ says there is no family or private (kashikiri) bath; ordinary guest rooms do not have hot-spring water, only two suite types have a hot-spring open-air bath.
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hotel Mahoroba登別温泉 ホテルまほろば | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | - Rooms with an open-air bath exist (suite category). Tattoo use not mentioned.
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Noboribetsu Grand Hotel登別グランドホテル | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | - Book a room type with an open-air bath
- The official site lists guest rooms with an open-air bath.
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Noboribetsu Sekisuitei登別石水亭 | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | - 15:00–23:00 in one-hour slots, 50 min per use; paid
- Five private baths in the "Nagomi" relaxation area (Sakura wing, B1).
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Takinoya登別温泉郷 滝乃家 | Ryokan | ?Not stated on official site | - Some room types have an open-air bath with free-flowing spring water. Tattoo use not mentioned.
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Nikko & Kinugawa
Private baths in Nikko & Kinugawa| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Asaya Hotel鬼怒川温泉 あさやホテル | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions | - Reservation system: bookings for 20:00 or later by phone in advance; earlier slots at check-in on the day; 50 min; up to 5 people
- 4 private baths. The FAQ explicitly directs tattooed guests to the private baths or the room bath.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoos OK there | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hotel Kinugawa Gyoen大江戸温泉物語 ホテル鬼怒川御苑 | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions | - Overnight guests only; no advance booking, register on the day (until 23:00); 45 min
- The tattoo note on the bath page refers to the large baths only.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| KAI Kinugawa界 鬼怒川 | Ryokan | !Allowed with conditions | - The hotel promotes rooms with an open-air bath. No separate tattoo rule for them.
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Oedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Kinugawa Kanko Hotel大江戸温泉物語 Premium 鬼怒川観光ホテル | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions | - Two private baths: 'Nikko no Yu' (with a stone-sauna room) and 'Kinu no Yu' (semi-open-air). The tattoo note on the bath page refers to the large baths only.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| TAOYA Nikko KirifuriTAOYA日光霧降 | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions | - Rooms with an open-air bath exist. No tattoo statement for them.
| In-room open-air bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Kinugawa Onsen Hotel鬼怒川温泉ホテル | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | - Two private baths ('Touki' and 'Kihada'), each with an open-air and an indoor bath. Tattoo use not mentioned.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
Private onsen in Atami
Private baths in Atami| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Private bath rules | Private bath | Checked |
|---|
| Hotel New Akaoホテルニューアカオ | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions | - 2 private onsen baths ('Sora', 'Tsuki', Horizon Wing 11F/12F); 60 min; book by phone before check-in or by house phone after check-in
- Tattoo use of the private baths not stated separately.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Atami Korakuen Hotel熱海後楽園ホテル | Hotel | ✕Not allowed | - Private open-air bath 'Excellency Spa' is only for guests of the Tower Excellency Floor; book at check-in on the day, no advance booking
- In-room baths are not hot-spring water (tap water). Tattoo use of the private bath not stated.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Atami Seaside Spa & Resort熱海シーサイド スパ&リゾート | Hotel | ?Not stated on official site | - Hotel guests only; 45-min slots
- Open-air private bath with sea view. The page says families, couples and people after surgery are welcome; tattoos not mentioned.
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check