Home / Tattoo-friendly onsen / Beppu
Tattoo-friendly onsen in Beppu
A hot-spring city in Oita with municipal public baths, sand baths and resort hotels.
Of the 6 Beppu baths we checked on their official websites, 0 allow tattoos, 1 allow them with conditions, 1 do not allow them and 4 do not say. Latest check: 9 Oct 2026.
- ✓Allowed 0
- !With conditions 1
- ✕Not allowed 1
- ?Not stated 4
Every policy links to the facility’s official page. How we check
Which onsen in Beppu allow tattoos?
1 facility in Beppu accepts tattoos according to its official site — some only under the condition shown:
- Onyado Nono Beppu 別府八湯 御宿 野乃別府 — Bathing is refused in principle for guests with tattoos
Which Beppu onsen do not allow tattoos?
1 facility says on the official site that guests with tattoos cannot use the shared baths:
- Suginoi Hotel 別府温泉 杉乃井ホテル
Can you use a private onsen in Beppu with tattoos?
4 facilities in our Beppu list have an officially listed private bath; the official site says tattoos are OK in it for 0 of them. For the others the official site does not say, so ask before booking. See all private onsen.
Do Beppu’s city-run baths have a tattoo rule?
We found none. Beppu City’s pages for its municipal onsen (such as Takegawara) and the city’s onsen FAQ do not mention tattoos, so these baths are shown as “Not stated on official site”. The same FAQ says the municipal onsen do not take bathing reservations.
Sources: Beppu City onsen FAQ (Japanese) — checked 9 Oct 2026
All Beppu facilities we checked
| Facility | Type | Tattoo policy | Conditions | Private bath | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Onyado Nono Beppu別府八湯 御宿 野乃別府 | Hotel | !Allowed with conditions |
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Suginoi Hotel別府温泉 杉乃井ホテル | Hotel | ✕Not allowed |
| Private bath (kashikiri)Tattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Hyotan Onsenひょうたん温泉 | Day-use onsen | ?Not stated on official site | — | Private family bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Kannawa Mushiyu (Steam Bath)鉄輪むし湯 | Sento (public bathhouse) | ?Not stated on official site | — | No | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Shibaseki Onsen柴石温泉 | Sento (public bathhouse) | ?Not stated on official site | — | Private family bathTattoo rule not stated | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Takegawara Onsen竹瓦温泉 | Sento (public bathhouse) | ?Not stated on official site | — | No | 9 Oct 2026 |
“Checked” links to the official page the policy comes from. How we check
“Not stated on official site” means we found no tattoo rule. It does not mean tattoos are allowed.
What do the labels mean?
- ✓Tattoos allowed
The official site says guests with tattoos may use the baths, with no cover-up required.
- !Allowed with conditions
Allowed only under stated conditions — for example covering small tattoos with stickers, or using a private bath only.
- ✕Not allowed
The official site says guests with tattoos may not use the shared baths (a private bath may still be offered — see conditions).
- ?Not stated on official site
We could not find any tattoo rule on the official site. This does not mean tattoos are allowed — ask the facility.
Other areas
Tokyo · Hakone · Kyoto · Osaka · Kinosaki · Kusatsu · Ginzan · Noboribetsu · Nikko & Kinugawa · Atami · All areas · Onsen tattoo rules